Hines Park Time Trial - August 4, 2013


  • A 12 Mile (20km), out-n-back course.
  • Closed course with no motor traffic.
  • Rolling terrain with mostly good pavement.
  • Short-n-sweet, Fast-n-furious.


Men Cat 1/2, Women 1/2 $100,$75,$50
Men Cat 3, Women Cat 3 $50, $35, $20
Masters, Men Cat 4 $30, $20, $10
Men Cat 5, Women Cat 4, Handcycles, Tandems, Juniors (by age),Eddy Mercks Medals
Teams $50, $35, $20

Eddy Mercks Category:

Race like in the old days using a standard road bike- no aerobars and metal spoked wheels. Separate competition for women and men.

Race Sequence:

  • Individual TT: The first rider will start at 8:00 with successive riders at 30 second intervals.
  • Team TT (2 person): The first team will start a half hour after the conclusion of the individual event with successive teams at 2 minute intervals. Timing is based on the front wheel of the second bike.

General Rules:

  • All USA Cycling rules apply.
  • Helmets are MANDATORY.
  • No drafting (except Team Members).
  • Yellow line rule in effect.
  • Warm-up/Cool down not permitted on course.
  • Rider responsible for being at start on time.
  • Penalty for missing start time is the time between assigned start time and actual start.

Start Location:

Hines Drive Parkway at the Nankin Mills picnic shelter located South of Ann Arbor Trail in Westland – please see map.

Start Times:

Start times will be posted on the website by midnight on Thursday, August 1, 2013.


Check-in will be open from 7:00 to 10:00AM.

USA Cycling License:

A standard USA Cycling athletic entry and release form must be signed at check in prior to racing. Athletes under 18 must have the signature of a parent or guardian. All racers must be USA Cycling licensed or will be required to purchase a One-Day license for an additional $10 and compete in Cat 5.

Computerized Timing:

Computerized timing provided by the Timing Guys enables quick results. This is the race that introduced computerized timing to Michigan Time Trials.

$100 Bonus:

Overall winners of individual and team events are eligible for $100 bonus for breaking the course record. Separate records for Men & Women.